March 4, 2024

Justice Byabakama, 6 others Out Of EC


Justice Simon Mugenyi Byabakama

Share Now

In the latest development, Justice Simon Mugenyi Byabakama and six other commissioners of Uganda’s Electoral Commission officially concluded their seven-year term of office on January 7, 2024. The Constitutional provision dictates that “the members of the Commission shall hold office for seven years, and their appointment may be renewed for one more term only.”

As the country marks the exit of these key figures from the Electoral Commission, the looming question remains about their potential renewal. The President of Uganda is tasked with appointing the commission, and the constitution allows for a one-time renewal of their term.

Surprisingly, up to the expiration of their contract, the President has remained tight-lipped regarding the renewal of the commissioners. This has left a void in the electoral body, raising uncertainties about its future leadership and the impending electoral processes.

While the law stipulates their exit unless the President decides otherwise, the political sphere is now abuzz with speculations and discussions about who might fill these important positions in the coming days. As the nation awaits further directives from the President, the Electoral Commission finds itself at a crossroads, awaiting clarity on its future leadership and the path ahead for the democratic processes in Uganda.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © All rights reserved. | CoverNews by AF themes.